protecting your rights


Mesa DUI Law

Mesa DUI Defense Lawyer Joshua S. Davidson

Under new DUI laws, first offenders can recieved up to 45 days in jail for a first Mesa DUI offense.New Arizona DUI laws are among the toughest in the country.  The particular Mesa DUI charge filed by the prosecution depends on a number of factors including the individual's BAC, whether anyone under the age of 15 is in the vehicle, how many prior DUI convictions the driver has during the past 7 years, and the status of the individual's drivers license.  The following information is not an exhaustive list of all DUI penalties.  In addition to the jail and prison sentences listed below, persons convicted of DUI are also subject to hefty fines, license suspensions/revocations, and the requirement to install an ignition interlock device on their vehicle.

FIRST MESA DUI OFFENSES – MISDEMEANORS

  1. BAC .08 – .149 or Impaired to the slightest degree (regardless of actual BAC)
  2. Minimum jail time: 10 days, up to 9 of which may be suspended by the court
  3. Extreme DUI (BAC .150 – .199)
  4. Minimum jail time: 30 days, none of which may be suspended by the court
  5. "Super" Extreme DUI (BAC .20 and up)
  6. Minimum jail time: 45 days which must be served consecutively.  The court may not suspend any of this minimum jail time

MESA DUI OFFENSES – MISDEMEANORS

(ONE PRIOR OFFENSE WITHIN PAST 7 YEARS)

  1. BAC .08 – .149 or Impaired to the slightest degree (regardless of actual BAC)
  2. Minimum jail time: 90 days, up to 60 of which may be suspended by the court
  3. Extreme DUI (BAC .150 – .199)
  4. Minimum jail time: 120 days, up to 60 of which may be suspended by the court
  5. "Super" Extreme DUI (BAC .20 and up)
  6. Minimum jail time: 180 days – the first 90 of which must be served consecutively

MESA FELONY DUI OFFENSES

  1. Any third or subsequent DUI offense within seven years or any DUI offense while drivers license is suspended, revoked, restricted, or cancelled  (assuming no prior felony convictions):
  2. Minimum prison time:4 consecutive months to be served as an initial term of probation.
  3. Any DUI offense with minor under 15 years of age in vehicle (assuming no prior felony convictions): Minimum Jail time:
  4. Depends on BAC – See applicable minimum sentences in misdemeanor section above

At the Mesa Law Offices of Joshua S. Davidson, you will receive personalized service from an attorney who has the knowledge and experience to aggressively protect your rights and defend your Mesa DUI case. We are available for a free consultation 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

The Law Offices of Joshua S. Davidson, PLC is devoted to the vigorous defense of individuals accused of criminal offenses in Mesa including: DWI/DUI Offenses, Drug Offenses, Vehicular Accidents, Alcohol Offenses, Domestic Violence, Theft, Robbery, Forgery, Burglary, Credit Card Fraud, Identity Theft, Assault, Aggravated Assault, Weapons Offenses, Homicide, Post Conviction Relief and Probation Revocation matters.

Contact Mesa Criminal Defense Attorney Joshua S. Davidson today if you or a loved one have been charged with a crime in Mesa, Arizona.

Member of the State Bar of Arizona and the Better Business Bureau